Words Can Feel Like Sticks and Stones

That tearing feeling, the sadness, the pain. Just because it can’t be seen doesn’t mean it’s not as real. Some go through life daily wanting to give up. While some get proper help and have those around them who genuinely care, others are disregarded or ignored and left to deal with their problems on their own. We are creatures of habit, once we start to do something often enough it just becomes natural. People forget basic manners and morals. One of them being not to treat others as basically trash.

I feel as though everyone went through a period where they were teased or bullied, whether it be during elementary or even into adulthood, regardless when the pain is the same. Even I have been through these times. In my elementary there were this group of girls, the original “mean girls”. Wanting to be included I tried my hardest to be accepted by them. To be considered as one of them, they made me do the most ridiculous things, such as digging for bugs, get myself in trouble with the teacher, and even made me go against my fears. Even after all of that they didn’t accept me, but merely said you’re not “cool” enough. That feeling of loneliness and solitude stuck with me all the way till junior high. Only then did I meet people who I felt I really connected with.

I got lucky. I was able to find people who I can bond and not fear rejection. Not everyone can be as lucky, but by changing how you think of the situation can really make a difference. There will always be those people who will bring you down, but you are the better person by not stooping to their level. You will be no different from them and become the bully yourself. I am a strong believer of karma and they will get what they deserve in the end. Those girls who bullied me back in elementary ended up expelled and dropping out of high school ruining their futures.

Leave a comment